RSS

Dr. Barbara Oakley, How We Should Be Teaching Math (Wall Street Journal)

10 Oct

One of my engineering students recently approached me with a mixture of anger and befuddlement, thrusting toward me a quiz sheet covered with red pen marks: “I just don’t see how I could have done so poorly. I understood it when you taught it in class.”

I smiled encouragingly, but inside I sighed. The semester was just beginning. I hadn’t had time to disabuse the student’s naiveté. He still thought that because he “understood” the material, he was all set.

Read the whole article at The Wall Street Journal.

 

Leave a Reply

 
